My Top Ten Budget Beauty Buys

Hey all! As a college student, I totally understand what it is like to have to budget yourself with certain things. And makeup, lord do I know, can get extremely expensive. These are products that I turn to when I can’t always buy high-end things, that I know will do the job just as well or even better.

So, here are my top ten favorite budget beauty buys:

  1. L’Oréal Paris Infallible Pro-Glow Foundation

-You can’t really beat the quality of this foundation for the price it is marked at. This foundation has a shade light enough to match my pale skin, and enough heavy-duty coverage to handle my redness and acne scars. Not to mention that it was tough enough to last me all day (I think about 15 hours before it got funky on me without any touching up). If you have oily skin I might suggest the Pro-Matte version of this, but since I enjoy a luminous finish Pro-Glow was an easy choice for me! Also, if you’re thinking about purchasing it, it is available at just about any drugstore, Walmart, or Ulta. This foundation has become a great alternative for me when I can’t always afford my $50 Tarte foundation.

Get it here //$10.20

  1. Jesse’s Girl Original Eyeshadow Primer

-I actually received a small sample of this in my Ipsy bag about a year ago, and fell in love with the quality. As a die-hard Urban Decay Eyeshadow primer fan, this does just as good of a job without the high price tag that comes with the UD name. My eyeshadow does not crease while wearing this, and it yields about the same results of last just about as long as any primer you’d pick up at Sephora (15 hours+). I used to only think you could buy this online, but I recently found that most RiteAid stores carry this brand, so if you get the chance, try this one out!

Get it here //$5.99

  1. E.L.F. Matte Lip Color

-I honestly wasn’t expecting much when I first bought this. I was just getting into gaining the confidence of trying newer and bolder lip colors and for $3, it was just meant for trying something new before buying a higher quality lippie. To my surprise, this lippie lasted me all through a date night, and I received multiple compliments on how lovely it looked! My favorite shade is berry sorbet, so if you’re looking for a good lip color with a small price tag, this might be a good option.

Get it, here //$3.00

  1. L’Oréal Studio Secrets Lumi Light Infusing Primer

-This is a bit on the pricey side for being a “budget” beauty buy, but compared to the prices of high end primers (this is a dupe for Becca), this one is dirt cheap! I actually love using this year-round. It looks amazing by itself, or underneath a luminous foundation; sometimes I even mix it in with my foundation. This primer blends easily, is meant for all skin types, and is light enough to give you a healthy glow without making you look too much like a Barbie butterfly princess (not that I wouldn’t be LIVING for a look like that…new blog post idea you guys??). I have pretty sensitive skin, so finding drugstore products that I enjoy slathering all over it has been rather difficult for me, and this one has caused me no breakouts for far. I have also used it for about 6 months now and I have yet to buy another bottle, so it is worth a try if you’re a fan of a luminous look.

Get it here //$12.99

  1. Mario Badescu Facial Spray with Aloe, Herb, and Rosewater

-I cannot rave about this facial spray enough! Urban Decay’s facial sprays range from $15-30, and this one is $7 for 4oz! I’m currently on my second bottle and use it every day. I use this over moisturizer to give my skin a refreshing look that keeps me glowing on the outside (when I’m not so glowy on the inside), and it is also great to set makeup. I’ll use it to set Bare Minerals makeup and it gives it a flawless finish, so this has been worth it for me and more, especially at the price point.

Get it here //$7.00

  1. NYX Cosmetics Hot Singles Eyeshadow

-I bought this on a whim one time, just to try a shade…and I am obsessed with these. For years I have always been a “high end” eyeshadow or nothing type of gal, but these singles have changed my mind. There is no fall out on these, and they blend so easily. The only complaint I have is that if you use a primer that isn’t too great, these are going to crease on you super easily. But all is made up for with its amazing pigmentation and cute packaging. Also, Ulta usually does buy one, get one 50% with this brand so the more the merrier!

Get it here //$4.49

  1. Smith’s Rosebud Salve

-I’ve been a diehard fan of the Rosebud Perfume Co. since high school. A product that has been around since 1892, you know it has to be good! I use my $6 tin of this salve for mainly lip balm, bit it can be used for other things like dry cuticles, makeup remover, frizzy hair, and dry/patchy skin. I even used it to heal my sunburned lips one summer. Also if you hate the smell of roses they have a wide variety of smells and flavors to keep everyone happy! Get it at http://www.rosebudperfume.com or try Sephora if you want to earn those extra Beauty Insider points!

Get it at Sephora, if you want //$6.00

  1. E.L.F. Cosmetics Baked Highlighter

-This $4 gem did not come into my life until I saw how magical it was when Jeffree Star used it in one of his highlighter videos. The trick with this one is to use a rough brush or a coin to take off the top layer of makeup to reach the true pigment. This highlighter gives off a natural sheen and with an extra layer (or just use it wet) you’ll be glowing like a Christmas tree in no time! I recommend the shade, “moonlight pearls.”

Get it here, or anywhere else that sells E.L.F. //$4.00

  1. NYX Cosmetics Slim Lip Pencil

-I have like ten of these suckers. They’re cheap, easy to use, and they come in a wide range of colors. Honestly they work just as well as Kylie’s lip pencils but they’re only $3.49. Besides, nobody knows what you’re using once it is on your face!

Get it here //$3.49

  1. Maybelline New York Great Lash Mascara

-I’ve been using this product for almost a decade now, and I’ve seen my mom use it in her makeup bag for even longer than that. Ranging from $3-6 this mascara is an oldie but a goodie in my book. It’s simple enough to wear alone but also can be layered on for a more dramatic look. I do recommend this type of mascara for people looking for a more natural look though, as that is what I believe it can be best suited for. Another great thing about this product? You can find it just about anywhere!

Get it here //$5.99

img_5167
Here’s my finished product using all of the products listed!
Leave a Reply

